Thread: Where is a good place to start when mapping a world?

Help Where is a good place to start when mapping a world?

I've never done a map before, I joined this site hoping to gain insight and tips on how to do it.

I'm looking to do it with pencil and paper rather than digitally. Mainly because I don't have any means to digitally draw. Nor do I have photoshop.

Anyway, where do you start? I've tried multiple times, but I just couldn't really get it down right. What I did was start with a shape, then build from there. But that wasn't working. So is there some technique or steps you need to take in order to get it right?

Well for any tutorial go to the tutorials forum and search there for various tuts on hand-drawn maps. However, have you considered downloading GIMP or Inkscape? GIMP is a free software that is very much like Photoshop, whereas Inkscape is free software like Illustrator. Welcome to the Guild, Fisheypixels!

GP
    Gamer Printshop Publishing, Starfinder RPG modules and supplements, Map Products, Map Symbol Sets and Map Making Tutorial Guide
    DrivethruRPG store

Artstation Gallery - Maps and 3D illustrations

That would make sense. Why I didn't think of that, I've no idea. I have GIMP. But the only thing is I don't have a tablet. I can't do any artistic anything with a mouse. I can chekc out Inkscape though!

Thanks man! Much appreciated!

In answer to your larger question, where you begin depends on your needs for the map. Broadly, there are two typical design strategies:
    Top-down, in which you begin with the largest systems you anticipate dealing with and then design each lower level until you get down to where your data of interest would be.
    And bottom-up, in which you start with a small area and design it to meet your needs, then start looking at what's around that area, and so forth until you reach the largest area you intend to deal with.