Thread: Greater World of Vandia - Early WIP Map

Default Greater World of Vandia - Early WIP Map

Hello Cartographers.

I am a writer, unpublished though I may be. I currently have in the works three books, two single volume books, and the first book in the Radiant Sky Quintet (Which at this stage is planned to have books that are between 200'000 and 400'000 words long.) It is Radiant Sky that I talk about here.

Radiant Sky is an ambitious project, it rounds off to between one and two million words long for all five books. The setting for these books is called Vandia, a planet in my universe, and I used my meager map making skills to make this very loose rendition of what the world looks like including vague lables when I first conceptualised the world. Hooray!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MapofthePlanetofVandiaLabled_zpsf1c54275.png 
Views:	79 
Size:	30.9 KB 
ID:	65880
    I only had MSPaint at the time I drew this because I was at a relatives house

Now there are quite a few issues with this map, as you would expect from an early draft. I found that dividing the lands into their own island continents was a bit silly, it left a lot more open space than I would like to have, and since Nebanris (purple) and Braydeos (green) were once a single nation it made more sense to join those lands together. Denylsum (orange) and Holoron (blue) are also relatively the same landscape so joining them made sense too. Avesa and Oisa are seperate nations so I left them be. I moved everything around and now I have something that looks like this.

Name:	RadiantSky_VandiaMAP_zps1c0062e7.png 
Views:	67 
Size:	333.7 KB 
ID:	65877