Thread: I am a new map-maker, please help.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Help I am a new map-maker, please help.

I am new to map making, I am currently a huge GIMP User and I have tried so many things. A friend recommended this site and I was curious if you could help me.

I am currently working on a Steampunk story called "Honorable Causes" which takes place in the world of Amesyus, a country that has basically recovered from their World War I and now is facing new, supernatural and fearsome threats. I would like to know how to make maps and some good tutorials for me.

Please and thank you,
    HAIL AMESYUS!
    Last edited by TrueUndeadHero; 08-11-2014 at 12:00 AM.

http://www.cartographersguild.com/at...nia-urenia.jpg

For anyone wondering. I want to make something similar to this. I wish to start with one nation at a time before creating a whole continent as I do not know what the whole continent looks like yet unless you guys recommend the latter.

You can look at the tutorials here for Gimp : http://www.cartographersguild.com/tu...df-format.html

Mapping can be complex, so just asking how to make a map is a pretty large question.

Ah, I see. Well. What I really want to know is where to place mountains and rivers. You know, geographical stuff.

What I really want to know is where to place mountains and rivers
    That can get very very in depth as well. I suggest checking out some threads here about tectonics and simply sketching something out and posting what you come up with. It is easier to talk about what works and what doesn't when looking at an example.
    Cheers,
    Cuin

----------------------
    on instagram at cuin_the_cartographer

Placing rivers is really easy when you have the landscape and some knowledge of the climates.

Mountains can be more complicated. They form with tectonic activity. Plate tectonics - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    either with transforming boundaries or converging boundaries.