Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fantasy Capital City

Default Fantasy Capital City

Hello everyone,

This is my first attempt at mapping a city. I want this to be the capital for a fantasy graphic novel I am making. It's a coastal city in a warm temperate climate home to both humans and dragons. The city is approximately 4 square miles (not including farmland) with a population of 60,000 humans. Here is the plan for the major streets with a rough idea of where the farms will go. The dot is the castle. Does this seem like a plausible layout? Thanks for reading!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	capital_city.jpg 
Views:	458 
Size:	167.2 KB 
ID:	69647

Is it supposed to be in the medieval era ? If so, I think the layout should be more chaotic. Or not depending on who rules the city.

and more importantly:

Quote Originally Posted by TheHoarseWhisperer View Post
    --I really like that the streets/public spaces seem to be defined by the buildings, rather than the other way around. That is something few city mappers do, and I wish more people would do, because it makes a closer match to historic city patterns (it also gives you those fantastic little alleys and squares that you're developing here). My only suggestion, at this point, is to not neglect the more obviously linear kinds of streets (i.e. the main roads that link different parts of the city, or the city to different parts of the world).

Community Leader Facebook Connected Ascension's Avatar