Thread: My world (in progress)

Default My world (in progress)

Hello, everyone. I'm very new to cartography and, right now, I'm working on building this world with a friend of mine. We don't expect to be done with this for a very long time. So far, we only have a small rough sketch of the continents, some larger drawings of the continents for the tentative world map (which is pretty much just continent silhouettes for now), and a vague idea of the world's societies. I'm sorry that I don't have a more complete product to show you all, but I'd like for some of you to answer some questions.

First of all, I'll show you all the rough sketch, part of the full map projected on the moon in Google Earth, and the original file for the map part.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SCN_0122.jpg 
Views:	125 
Size:	1.75 MB 
ID:	69798

Name:	heresyrproblem.png 
Views:	87 
Size:	1.02 MB 
ID:	69797

Name:	eridumkivpt1.png 
Views:	65 
Size:	129.8 KB 
ID:	69799

Second of all, here are my questions:

1. How could I make the northern part of the continent in the Google Earth screenshot not look so stretched?

2. Could you guys give me some critique on how the continents I've drawn are? Are they too broken-up? Too unrealistic? Is there anything you could point out?

I'd really appreciate any advice you would have to give me. I just want to enjoy the process of making this world. Thank you.

Banned User

Hello TheRedNightmare, welcome to the Guild!

Is there some reason you really want to project this onto a sphere? Most gaming really doesn't require that and can do just fine with a flat map of the sort in your graph paper drawing.