Thread: First Battle Map

Guild Journeyer Facebook Connected NathanC's Avatar

Wip First Battle Map

I've been wanting to learn how to do battle maps in Photoshop for a while now. As luck would have it I found madcowchef's very handy step by step instructions.

So here it is, my first battle map.

Lots of textures from CGTextures and deviantart and the dundjinni forums. I think i grabbed the trees from Neyjour. It's been such a long time since I picked them up I don't remember.

Also grabbed a great brush pack for the grass from calthyechild on deviant as well

Suggestions are welcome. I know the cliff it a little wonky and the structure could stand to be a bit larger.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	First Battle Map.jpg 
Views:	123 
Size:	1.26 MB 
ID:	70569  

I'm not an artist, but a "serious" battlemap user, so my opinion is: your map is totally OK. You and your players can easily follow the terrain types which is important, and if the PCs or some enemy like to climb trees, then it is the best method to put down full trees. But I think most of the time the fight goes under the trees an around the tree trunks, so I prefer when you can see the trunk (it's not so beautiful, but useful).
    What will happen there?

Hey Nathan,

I think this is great for a first map. I followed the same tutorial and I know the techniques from it and such thanks to Madcowchef. I'd feel totally comfortable using it at my table because it would be simple to explain the questions I have in seconds. These things seem to be a balance between speed and beauty so some of these suggestions might be above and beyond what you care to do (like the shadows).

There are a few things that jumped out to me. The first is the walls of the structure the camp is in, because of the shape. Is it a ruined structure like in the tutorial or something else? I think logs.

I'm not sure what is at the base of the hill.