Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Duruthian Catacombs

Default Duruthian Catacombs

Today I experimented with some indoor mapping which is something I have never done before. Decided to play with the shadows as well. Turned out better than I expected.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Floor-01.jpg 
Views:	299 
Size:	289.4 KB 
ID:	72523  

Definitely has some nice atmosphere to it.
    My new Deviant-thing. I finally caved.

Very realistic looking!

Thanks guys!
    I have used layer masks, so it is created in nondestructive way. Changing it is simple and fast (only the shadows require extra attention). I will review the method further as I already found few better ways to do it.

Purely experimenting with new techniques.

Name:	Floor-01a.jpg 
Views:	154 
Size:	523.6 KB 
ID:	72561  

Difficulties after difficulties. I though I had this figured out already but once you finally get something done you run against another problem.

Name:	Sample-02.jpg 
Views:	150 
Size:	397.8 KB 
ID:	72587  

The reason I stay away from really harsh lighting and shadows is because while it may look very realistic, in my mind it stops making sense once the players are involved.

For example, if I make a map where the inside of a building is dark with just a sliver of light coming in through a barely opened door, it looks cool. But what happens when the players open the door? The room is still dark. What if they're carrying their own light source, as they're likely to do?

Not to say the images aren't nice (I always find it funny when I can point to the exact texture someone used in my own Textures folder), but I've found it a technique that seems like a waste on battlemaps.

Guild Adept Guild Sponsor

I though I had this figured out already but once you finally get something done you run against another problem.