Thread: I'm intimidated by all the great maps on here!

Guild Novice Facebook Connected

Post I'm intimidated by all the great maps on here!

Hi!

I'm a bit amazed that I haven't stumbled across this corner of the internet before, as it combines two of my great loves: mapping and imaginary worlds.

I started playing D&D 30 years ago and I've been following various roleplaying systems and worlds ever since. Honestly, though, my interest in actually *playing* RPGs has waned a bit since college. I still very much enjoy world creation, but we'll blame the busyness of adult life and the ease of playing computer games for my lack of recent tabletop RP experience.

Playing D&D was my first experience really enjoying maps and mapping. (Remember that isometric map of Castle Ravenloft? That was so awesome!) It led to an interest in architecture that lasted up until time to pick a major in college. At the time, I was too intimidated by the artistic side of architecture, particularly the drafting and drawing. I spent a bit of time as a Computer Science major, until I stumbled across a geography class.

I enjoyed learning about the people and places in the world so much that I switched majors to Geography. With my background in Computer Science I had a bit of an advantage some very new sub-fields that were just starting to take off: GIS and computerized mapping. After getting my BS in Geography, I worked for a time as a CAD draftsman making topo maps for an aerial photography firm and then making legal maps of sewer service areas for the Sanitation District. Don't let anyone tell you mapping isn't glamorous!