Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fantasy Flora

Link Fantasy Flora

Not sure if this is the correct place, but I couldn't find a general world building section on CG.

I'm studying ecology and I'm particularly interested in plant adaptions, evolution and aesthetics. Botany in general. I know this is more of a forum for map design, but I wonder if any here have endeavored to dream up their own fantasy flora (and associated fauna)? I'd love to hear anything you've got.

And perhaps we could talk about fantasy geography/natural history/ecology in general?
    http://thwoodsman.blogspot.co.uk/
    Conservation, Traditional Skills & Travel

I always include some kind of plant life in my maps, though I can honestly say, I primarily recreate real world plants, rather than fantastical plants, aside from giant trees (which still fall under realistic plants). Here's a link to a hand-drawn swamp map which consist of 20+ hand-drawn plants, including trunks only of cypress trees showing cypress knees. I thought I did a good job of drawing the plants I was attempting to draw.

I'd look at Map Objects board on this forum for more examples of plants and other things. Because plants only comprise a small amount of the total posted map objects, you'll have to search to find them.

I otherwise can't help you, I am no botanist, and only slightly knowledgeable on the subject.
    Gamer Printshop Publishing, Starfinder RPG modules and supplements, Map Products, Map Symbol Sets and Map Making Tutorial Guide
    DrivethruRPG store

Artstation Gallery - Maps and 3D illustrations

I've got some plants I've made up, and several species of mushrooms (because mycology is a thing of mine) but they mainly exist to fit the plot - I've not properly considered how they fit into the ecosystem. And most of my plants are real world ones anyway. I've been meaning to do proper drawings of them all too. Specifically I wanted to do a mushroom field guide for my world but it is actually quite a bit of work!