Thread: First Map

Default First Map

I'm not too sure if this is the place to post this kind of thing, but here goes. I recently made this map(please don't laugh, I'm very new to this) i would like some constructive criticism on what I'm doing right or wrong, how I could improve.

(And I also have trouble with towns and cities on maps)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1435781203.541847.jpg 
Views:	55 
Size:	219.1 KB 
ID:	74507  

Guild Expert Guild Supporter Abu Lafia's Avatar

Hi anth0ny, welcome to the guild. I think your map looks really nice! The mountains, hills, cliffs and the canyon are fine in my view, as are the forests. Maybe you should explain more what kind of trouble you have with the towns/cities. I actually like them how they are . The one (and from my view only "real") problem are your rivers. They usually don't "fork" (?) on their way to the sea. There is a thread in the Tutorial Section where you can find all things about "How to get your rivers in the right place". Otherwise the River-Cops might catch you .

Thank you for the feedback, I'll make sure to visit that thread. Don't need a criminal record. And my problem with the towns/cities is that they look sorta forced, and not very realistic.

Guild Expert Guild Supporter Abu Lafia's Avatar