Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Making Regional Maps of a World Map

Question Making Regional Maps of a World Map

So I have a world map made and I want to start drawing out regional maps. My problem, however, is that I am having trouble getting the shapes and proportions accurate to the larger map. What sort of techniques have worked for anyone else who has made regional maps of their world maps? I was thinking that a grid system may be my best bet.

Note: I hand draw my maps and then do finishing touches in GIMP which I am still learning

My world map
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Scan.png 
Views:	399 
Size:	1.59 MB 
ID:	74732

Well, first you need to decide what map projection you're using on your world map, I guess. I like using cylindrical projection myself; I've found it a lot easier trying to make a regional map since you can more or less have the latitudes and longitudes as direction markers. If you have a map like this: http://facweb.bhc.edu/academics/scie...atpractice.gif all you need then is a blank paper, draw the long. and lat. accurately (maybe use another map to get those lines right?) on the paper and then use your world map with long and lat as a reference point on where the coast and rivers and everything else should go.

Does any of that make sense?

Very cool looking map btw =)

Quote Originally Posted by Vidgange View Post
    Well, first you need to decide what map projection you're using on your world map, I guess. I like using cylindrical projection myself; I've found it a lot easier trying to make a regional map since you can more or less have the latitudes and longitudes as direction markers.