Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Website finances and our options

Administrator Facebook Connected Robbie's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Help Website finances and our options

So, it looks like it's come time to figure out a new way of paying for this thing. Due to the amount of people running adblock and the dying web advertising industry, and the fact that I've not had a very successful ad-space selling campaign...the costs of running the dedicated server are about to start coming out of pocket again. Something that hasn't happened in several years. In the short term, I've changed the donation bar to a monthly goal which resets every month, and I'm considering resetting all of the donor titles prior to a certain date I haven't determined yet. But I wanted to discuss some other options with you all first.

1) a dedicated PR person - we've needed someone to be a public relations person for the site for a while, because I'm not good at it, and I'm not around as much as I'd like to be. I can keep the lights on, but I can't be at the cutting edge of the community both here and in other mapping communities to share and cross post and promote interesting things that will generate traffic and ad-clicks. This person would also deal with other companies to help me sell ad-impressions and manage the advertising campaign.

2) a paid subscription level - I've considered this a LOT, but the problem is...no one would want to pay unless there was something to offer. I could apply limitations to non-paying visitors such as storage space, and messaging limitations, and then remove those limitations for paying members. I could also turn off ads for paying members. There are some options, but I'm not sure what I'd be able to promise, deliver, and maintain to make it worth anyones money. If you have any ideas, please comment how much you'd be willing to pay (yearly or monthly) and what you'd like to see as a benefit for being a paid subscriber.