Thread: WIP Map for Novel

Post WIP Map for Novel

Hi all. So I've been playing with Gimp so I can have a better map to refer back to than the hand-drawn scrawl (aka blobs) I drew in my notebook. This is my first attempt at a map and it doesn't need to be perfect as long as I have a world that works. So I cheated and used stamps. I did get a little adventurous and try to draw a few things, but I'm a beginner. However -- being the perfectionist that I am -- I'm after some advice, mainly on placement of things like mountains and deserts.

I've attached my map as it currently stands marking the equator. I have a rough idea of the tectonic plates. This planet is a lot smaller than Earth. Looking at what I've done, do I need to shift Varnad further South and put more water between it and the other land masses if I want it to represent a southern pole? I've drawn in rough political borders, but they're flexible. The book is mainly set in Elsera. Should I simply be concentrating on the one land mass it is part of, even though the characters may have to travel (I've planned the book, they will have to, but I'm not sure where exactly yet. If need be they could simply travel North or South.

A little info (I won't bore you with details) but my world is a sci-fi fantasy cross (more fantasy) but they have the tech to fly and drive etc. There are 2 moons which will affect tides, but I'm not sure what else it might affect. I may need to research it more. Travel times or distances aren't going to be as much of a problem as a straight up fantasy where people might have to walk, but of course I still need to know how long it would take to get from A to B with the tech that they have.

Okay, thanks in advance for anyone that has a look.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mapWIP.jpg 
Views:	186 
Size:	244.1 KB 
ID:	77082  

Looking good so far.