Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Urban map of Trindlum

Guild Journeyer

Wip Urban map of Trindlum

UPDATE:

I decided to reboot this map after abandoning it last year. I didn't want to erase previous stuff, so the real project starts at page 2, post #16.
    Hey Guild!

I am really new to mapping and thought would create this thread to show the route to the end results of my first 'proper map'. The map will show my fantasy city Trindlum and its surrounding areas, so it will be expansive. Before I start, maybe I should put up what tools I have at my disposal. I'm gonna 100% hand-draw the map.

-----------------------------
    GIMP
    Pen & Paper
    Wacom Intuos Pen (don't remember exact model)
    (Inkscape)
    ProFantasy's CC3 with CityDesigner
    (Autodesk Pixlr)
    -----------------------------

List of basic features:
    - long coast
    - two rivers
    - one huge mountain range
    - another smaller mountain range will be slightly visible
    - loads of farms around the city walls

Map style:
    - hand-drawn
    - colored
    - top-down

Here is the first, initial sketch which is still unfinished:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Xtu0uZe.jpg 
Views:	145 
Size:	3.16 MB 
ID:	77182

You also see smallish island located at the end of the two rivers. The city itself will be at that empty peninsula in the middle of the picture. Also for the sake of naming different locations, I left room for an appendix.

That mountain was my first try at top-down mountains, which are really tricky to do...? Any guidance on how to make it look good? For the record, I enjoyed how Narulas made elevations in his town of Fiere-Muraille. One of the rivers felt like a straight line, so I already am fixing it to be more curvy.