Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: [WIP] my first map

Wip [WIP] my first map

Hi there,

I'm a newcomer - and since a few weeks i want to do some maps. Don't know why, i just need to draw things. Im not good at drawing and im not good at photoshop either... So please be kind :p

I watched a few tuts on youtube and a few maps on that site. And i'd like to get some advice on my first map. Here are a couple of screenshots. can you tell me how to improve this ? what's wrong and what's ok ?

This is a close up of the most advanced part
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	carte3_zoom.jpg 
Views:	127 
Size:	363.8 KB 
ID:	77416

and this is the whole map

Name:	carte3.jpg 
Views:	294 
Size:	1.02 MB 
ID:	77415

That is really good Dn'k.
    It looks like you are using a pressure sensitive tablet to draw.
    So far, most of what you are doing is very good.
    I like your color choices and your mountain ranges look quite good. The shadows are great.
    I would never have guessed this to be your first map as it looks so well done.

My first suggestion is with the path with the flags.
    I did a quick sketch to show an alternate way you could do that path.
    That many flags seems like too much.

Name:	carte3_zoom.jpg 
Views:	83 
Size:	366.1 KB 
ID:	77418

But really you are doing a great job so far. Keep at it. It looks great.

Yes i'm using an old wacom intuos 3 tablet.

Well thanks for the compliments, but there is very very good tutorials on youtube... Here are which I used :
    that one for the mountains
    These for the general shape of the land and the forest
    and these for the town stamps

Banned User

Hi Dn'k, Welcome to the Guild!

Here are some more good tutorials for you to look at: Quickstart Guide to Fantasy Mapping: http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=4276

From there, go to Hand Drawn Mapping for the Artistically Challenged: http://www.cartographersguild.com/sh...ad.php?t=10655