Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hammerwald - My First World Map

Guild Novice

Default Hammerwald - My First World Map

Hi everyone - Although I've been an illustrator for a long time, I'm branching out into maps and diagrams. This is my first world map, made to accommodate any fantasy or historical army that a tabletop wargamer owns or can imagine. I was surprised at how long it took; mapping is quite a complex and interesting job. My PC struggled with all the text, which I perhaps foolishly did in Photoshop. In future I'll try doing all that sort of stuff in Inkscape or some other vector program, which should hopefully help!

Edit: I forgot to mention that I obviously used a lot of real Earth areas and coastlines to generate the landmasses quickly, as I needed the map in my portfolio as soon as possible. One day when I have more time, I'll do a second version and work over all the details to make this less obvious.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Hammerwald_map_jasonjuta.jpg 
Views:	583 
Size:	6.10 MB 
ID:	77676
    Last edited by Jason Juta; 11-29-2015 at 06:38 AM.

Guild Apprentice Facebook Connected

I don't think there's even a thing I could properly criticise, the only possible nitpick I could find is, that for the artsy distinguished and in parts comicy style you went for, I don't think you did quite such a varied job in making the map interesting by depicting different biomes and areas of land.

Apart from the hue - and then the obligatory white iteshell in the norf - all the landmasses and mountains and everything looks rather same-ey.

The Typography, style of the banner in the center, the little dude above the windrose as well as the coats of arms though I adore!

Guild Novice

Thanks Teferi, yes I agree - It could do with some differentiation in biomes. I think I also struggled between styles (realism, hand-drawn antique, comic/cartoon) because I didn't make a definite decision when starting. Good lessons to learn!