Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: The Sleepy Dwarf Inn [commission]

Map The Sleepy Dwarf Inn [commission]

Hello all. This is my first post to the site.

I'm new to cartography but not new to art. Also, not at all new to RPG and tabletop gaming either. I've seen very few dungeon maps on the site so I'm not sure if that sort of thing is considered "cartography" or not so I apologize in advance if this is posted incorrectly.

This was commissioned for a commercial product so I didn't use any token or icons. All was hand painted myself. I have other maps to complete so at least I'm building assets for future maps. And cross posting is fine too. Just can't use this in another commercial product.

Two things I wanted to achieve:
    1. Let the map be as descriptive to the player as possible.
    2. Not let the map get too cluttered in the process.

This was hard for me to do, a blank room isn't too descriptive. I tried to do this by using dramatic lighting and different textures.

I'd love to get advice from the very talented artists and cartographers on this great site, so don't hold back
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	The Sleepy Dwarf final.jpg 
Views:	435 
Size:	830.2 KB 
ID:	79222  

Well, first of all, welcome to the guild and might I say what a lovely entrance.

It's beautiful and thank you for showing us your work. I like how you indicated light coming in through the windows via the shadows. Very nice, have a big whack of Reputation!

Oh, and you posted just fine.
    “When it’s over and you look in the mirror, did you do the best that you were capable of? If so, the score does not matter. But if you find that you did your best you were capable of, you will find it to your liking.” -John Wooden

* Rivengard * My Finished Maps * My Challenge Maps * My deviantArt

Banned User

Hello Vhey, welcome to the Guild!