Thread: First Galaxy Map/Story

Guild Novice Facebook Connected

Wip First Galaxy Map/Story

So I've been rolling around ideas for awhile about a sci-fi story and decided to finally put them on a map. I'm relatively new to map building and have almost zero skills as an artist and I was hesitant at first to try and build a map because I REALLY didn't want to see how bad it would be, but eventually I said what the heck and threw myself into Photoshop to see what would come out. Days turned to weeks as I struggled to wrap my mind around the intricacies of the simple brush tool and such, and after a couple of takes I finished with this map. The hardest part of course was making the background galaxy, the rest was relatively easy to do. I want to learn how to impose a more artistic perspective on the map, right now I feel it looks too machined and basic. I really don't know if Photoshop is a good program to use to create maps or if I'm just an artistic dunce that needs more practice. Any feed back would be extremely welcome, because after all you guys are the greatest cartographers around. So anyways here's a brief description of the story so y'all know what the heck your looking at; (This is extremely long)