Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: March Entry:Grinding the river handle

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Software Dev/Rep Redrobes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,807
    Blog Entries
    4

    Post March Entry:Grinding the river handle

    New challenge huh ? Well its a bit technical this one. Also the process to put rivers in is a methodical one hence my title. Its about climate and topology, a little geology and basically doing the water runs downhill thing.

    Heres my previous tut on the subject. Which was based on a lot of others peoples comments as well.
    http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=3822

    Obviously ill be using my GTS to chug out the rivers so ill need the topology. Then since the challenge does not call for just rivers but a sh*t load of rivers, I had better turn on the taps and let the rain flood out. No need for me to fix up all those pesky little pools it tends to generate this time then.

    So for my first WIP, I had better actually get that image knocked into shape. After a clean up job, and an edge detect then it comes out nice and large like this. I'll print this, get out my pen, draw some contours on it and scan it back in again. I find that quicker than any computer process including a tablet.

    ### Latest WIP ###

  2. #2
    Community Leader jfrazierjr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Apex, NC USA
    Posts
    2,963

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by Redrobes View Post
    New challenge huh ? Well its a bit technical this one. Also the process to put rivers in is a methodical one hence my title. Its about climate and topology, a little geology and basically doing the water runs downhill thing.

    Heres my previous tut on the subject. Which was based on a lot of others peoples comments as well.
    http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=3822

    Obviously ill be using my GTS to chug out the rivers so ill need the topology. Then since the challenge does not call for just rivers but a sh*t load of rivers, I had better turn on the taps and let the rain flood out. No need for me to fix up all those pesky little pools it tends to generate this time then.

    So for my first WIP, I had better actually get that image knocked into shape. After a clean up job, and an edge detect then it comes out nice and large like this. I'll print this, get out my pen, draw some contours on it and scan it back in again. I find that quicker than any computer process including a tablet.

    ### Latest WIP ###
    Don't forget, the sample rivers provided can't be changed more then a tiny amount, so not sure how your application will handle existing river beds.
    My Finished Maps
    Works in Progress(or abandoned tests)
    My Tutorials:
    Explanation of Layer Masks in GIMP
    How to create ISO Mountains in GIMP/PS using the Smudge tool
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    Unless otherwise stated by me in the post, all work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.

  3. #3
    Software Dev/Rep Redrobes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,807
    Blog Entries
    4

    Post

    It should be alright. I will tell it where they are and try to get the terrain around them right. If I get that wrong then it will move them.

    Well, here is my effort with a pen and a scanner. This has been touched up from the original scan. Ill have to fill this in with height bands and get a 3D map.

    ### Latest WIP ###
    Last edited by Redrobes; 03-06-2009 at 02:15 PM.

  4. #4
    Software Dev/Rep Redrobes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,807
    Blog Entries
    4

    Post

    Just dropped graduating colors into the spaces between contours and then blurred it a bit to get height map.

    ### Latest WIP ###

  5. #5
    Community Leader Facebook Connected Steel General's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ft. Wayne, IN
    Posts
    9,464

    Default

    Go RedRobes Go!
    My Finished Maps | My Challenge Maps | Ghoraja Juun, my largely stagnated campaign setting.

    Unless otherwise stated by me in the post, all work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.



  6. #6

    Post

    thats an interesting way to do it. so this program can take the line art and assign height to the terrain?

  7. #7
    Software Dev/Rep Redrobes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,807
    Blog Entries
    4

    Post

    No, there are programs that can do that job tho. I got the bitmap with the contours in it and flood fill gray colors into it. Then that makes a greyscale height map which the program takes in. If you need a better example then look at my Dec07 challenge entry about the Inn on a hill. Theres example pics for it there.

    I have been running it through a processing run today and its generated some water flow as follows. I have taken this as a reference and drawn the rivers over the top on a transfer, fix up challenge rule bits about the number of courses per square and will then assign those to the map.

    Anyway, for now, here is the processed image.

    ### Latest WIP ###

  8. #8
    Software Dev/Rep Redrobes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,807
    Blog Entries
    4

    Post

    Got a bit more done...

    ### Latest WIP ###

  9. #9
    Software Dev/Rep Redrobes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,807
    Blog Entries
    4

    Post

    Heres my count. I seem to have too many courses by quite a long margin. My rough tally is about 40x1, 30x2, 14x3 and a handful of more than 3.

    So I need to knock down a few 2's into 1's and get rid of 12x3+ courses to be exact.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •