Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Using Wilbur

  1. #1
    Guild Novice Facebook Connected
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain, Spain
    Posts
    20

    Post Using Wilbur

    Hi guys,

    I've made a b/w map in Photoshop bymeans Thershold, I want to create a height map with Wilbur.

    My problem is that when I open my map with Wilbur, it seems as it doesn't recognize the continental shape, I mean anything I do it makes it for the whole map, not distinguishing between sea (black) and land (white).

    Is it possible to do that?

  2. #2
    Guild Artisan Greason Wolfe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Tigard (and Florence) Oregon
    Posts
    735

    Post

    If Waldonrate or Torstan happen by this thread, they might be able to help you out. I know next to nothing abut Wilbur, though if you check under a post by Redrobes, you'll find a link to a keyword list that may lead you to the answers you're looking for. And I would imagine that one of the community leaders will likely move this thread into the Software Discussion forum at some point so don't be dismayed if you see a "moved" tag attached to this at some point. Good luck finding a solution.

    GW
    When nothing is going right and you can't find someone else to blame, start beating your head against the wall, 'cause it'll feel so much better when you stop.

  3. #3
    Software Dev/Rep Redrobes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,807
    Blog Entries
    4

    Post

    Hi - see keyword index in sig for possible help. No guarantees tho

  4. #4
    Guild Novice Facebook Connected
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain, Spain
    Posts
    20

    Default

    I could only find an approximation of what I wanted in this link http://www.ridgenet.net/~jslayton/Th...ain/index.html but the file exported is already with heights, mine is very, very basic, since my intention is making the heights with Wilbur, I am sure it has to be a simpler way to do it.

  5. #5
    Software Dev/Rep Redrobes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    4,807
    Blog Entries
    4

    Post

    Here is how I do it when I have a map with no height information. Two examples from two different challenges. Basically, draw some contours, fill them in with grey values for height and then smooth the image down to interpolate.

    http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=4648

    http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=1273

  6. #6
    Guild Novice Facebook Connected
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain, Spain
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Thanks for your help, I was basically trying to make the same but including rivers bymeans Wilbur as a fast and better done job, but now I imagine that it is not possible.

  7. #7
    Software Dev/Rep Gracious Donor waldronate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The High Desert
    Posts
    1,735

    Default

    http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=4676 was done from a back and white mask in Photoshop and Wilbur. The first cut (not shown) was done entirely in Wilbur, but I didn't show it because there is an annoying cardinal direction problem with the distance calculator in Wilbur that causes square artifacts to appear over longish distances.

    I will try to remember to write a tutorial for this but I'm a little swamped with coursework and workwork at the moment.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •