Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CD3 New Road Style - The Wagon Trail

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Guild Apprentice

Post CD3 New Road Style - The Wagon Trail

This picture is what I was trying to recreate in my CD3 maps.

After following Gandwarf's fantastic CD3 tutorials, I found that certain design elements (while great) didn't fit my particular style. The term 'organic' is often used when people talk about their mapping style and this definitely fits with what I'm going for. The generic roads built into CD3 might work well from a design point, they just aren't artistic enough to capture the feel that I was going for in my map. So I created a new road tool and style sheet to accomplish what I was looking for.

I'm posting the details here because I'd like feedback from some of the more experienced cartographers. I'm a complete novice at this stuff and the help that I've gotten in just a few short days by reading this site has been incredible so I thought I'd try for two birds with one stone, so to say.

#1 - Give something back
    #2 - Get constructive feedback

So here's how I accomplished my Wagon Trail...

Create a new tool.

Start with...
    All City Drawing Tools -> Advanced -> City Wall 10'

Click [New]
    Rename it. I used "Wagon Trail"
    Draw Method - Path Polygon
    Click [Options]
    Change to 'smooth'

Click [Outline]
    Make sure 'extra entity' is selected and hit [Properties]
    Color doesn't matter because we're going to be using a fill.
    Width - Fixed, 4.0
    Layer - Roads
    Sheet - Wagon Trails
    Fill Style - CD3A_Grass 1*
    *use the same fill as your map's main land background. I use '...Grass 1'

Click [Ok],[Ok]

Now Click [Properties]
    Click the color swatch and set your "use color" to #157
    Play around with your colors and find one that works well for you. On my monitor, color #157 works well when combined with the sheet effects I've chosen (see below).
    Width - Fixed, 10.0