Thread: Greetings

Guild Applicant

Post Greetings

Hey folks, been lurking here for a couple weeks and finally decided to post something. I have been working on a book (surprise, surprise) and got stuck in my writing, so I decided to try my hand at making a map to see if that would help me past the block. I came across these forums and have been completely blown away by the beautiful maps here which have inspired me to try my hand at cartography. I have several experiments and works in progress at the moment, but I just finished a city map with Gimp, thanks in large part to Pyrandon's awesome tutorial. Hopefully soon I'll have finished the regional and world maps I am also working on at the moment.

Without further ado, I would like to share the city map I just completed. I'm still learning Gimp for the most part and it still needs a bit of work. Adding text in general has been giving me problems for some reason, I can't seem to get it to properly size itself.

Anyway, my thanks to the community here for providing such a wonderful resource for all of us aspiring cartographers
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	city2.jpg 
Views:	42 
Size:	371.6 KB 
ID:	13376  

that is a very nice map. But what is the scale? How far is it from A to B?
    Daniel the Neon Knight: Campaign Cartographer User

Never use a big word when a diminutive one will suffice!

Any questions on CC3? Post them with CC3 in the Subject Line!
    MY 'FAMOUS' CC3 MAPS: Thunderspire; Pyramid of Shadows; King of the Trollhaunt Warrens; Demon Queen's Enclave

Welcome Al-Iksandar! You certainly aren't the only one mapping for a book

Nice map, it looks like a well fortified city. The layout is also very pleasing to the eye. What are the brown patches to the north, though? Fields? They look a bit out of place... like I am playing a game and my videocard suddenly decides to display some weird artifacts