Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie and loving this place

Post Newbie and loving this place

Okay, I am Krome popping over from Paizo and the encouragement of JonathanRoberts, no idea what he goes by here. Probably goes by JonathanRoberts. I am a photographer by trade and training and enjoy cartography as a hobby.

I do a passable job of indoor maps and need some serious help on my overland maps. I found a fantastic tutorial last night by Pasis. My overland maps improved 100% in one night. Now I just need to keep improving. I need to learn some basic geography, such as where is logical for mountains, rivers, and forests. That would help a LOT.

If this upload works I will include my first Improved overland map, since reading Pasis' tutorial. Comments are welcomed, and suggestions for improving are pleaded for!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FIrst Maplowres.jpg 
Views:	64 
Size:	193.2 KB 
ID:	13450  

Community Leader Facebook Connected Ascension's Avatar

Welcome to the guild. The map looks good. If you really want to get into the realistic world-building of geology, tectonics, currents and jet streams, then there are many WIPs (works in progress) for you to look at and see what they're doing. Personally, I just put 'em wherever I want 'em Poke around and have fun, chime in here n there where you see fit.
    If the radiance of a thousand suns was to burst at once into the sky, that would be like the splendor of the Mighty One...I am become Death, the Shatterer of worlds.
    -J. Robert Oppenheimer (father of the atom bomb) alluding to The Bhagavad Gita (Chapter 11, Verse 32)

My Maps ~ My Brushes ~ My Tutorials ~ My Challenge Maps

Post Coastlines too smooth

Hey, Krome, welcome to the Guild.

Jon Roberts is Torstan, if you haven't figured that out yet.