Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Wilbur is uber slow

  1. #1
    Guild Member ironmetal250's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Rice University
    Posts
    59

    Post Wilbur is uber slow

    Should it be taking 45+ minutes to use the river flow feature? I've been working on a new map all day (I admit it is pretty large-sized) but these rivers have kept me waiting for a few hours to get them right... is something just wrong with my computer or is Wilbur really this unbearable slow?

  2. #2
    Software Dev/Rep Gracious Donor waldronate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The High Desert
    Posts
    1,736

    Default

    It depends on the size of the map, speed of your computer, amount of memory, 32-bit vs. 64-bit version, and numerous other factors. Runtime is proportional to the cube of the image size so it can take a very long time for large images.

  3. #3
    Guild Adept loogie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Strathroy, ON
    Posts
    364

    Default

    short answer... most likely, but it depends what you mean by large. per pixel operations get slow very quick. you may also find that with such a large image the rivers will be fairly thin. depending on what you are trying to do they may not be to your taste.
    Photoshop, CC3, ArcGIS, Bryce, Illustrator, Maptool

  4. #4

    Post

    And on every 5th cycle it travels across the internet and makes Waldronate coffee -- he really likes coffee


    Dollhouse Syndrome = The temptation to turn a map into a picture, obscuring the goal of the image with the appeal of cute, or simply available, parts. Maps have clarity through simplification.

    --- Sigurd

  5. #5
    Guild Journeyer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada
    Posts
    134

    Default

    If rivers are too thin Under the Incise Flow Options is River "Blur" I usually start at a 2.




    And yes, I use a 3.5 quad for 64 bit with 6 Gigs (I am not joking) of high speed ram. I still cant run incise flow on a map larger than 4000x4000, without risk of complete does not return from the dead lock up.
    Last edited by Lathorien; 05-24-2009 at 11:49 PM.

  6. #6
    Guild Member ironmetal250's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Rice University
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Oh man... well, I finished the map with the tiny rivers (I might go back and redo the rivers later, but for now... no more)... for reference it was a 6000x4200 pixel image at 100 ppi and I have a 2.6 quad with 4gig RAM.

  7. #7
    Software Dev/Rep Gracious Donor waldronate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The High Desert
    Posts
    1,736

    Default

    What was the total time? just for reference purposes.

  8. #8
    Guild Member ironmetal250's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Rice University
    Posts
    59

    Default

    over 30 minutes for generating rivers once (I had to do it a few times due to my own stupidity)... I'm not sure of the exact time because I left after a half-hour to do something else.

  9. #9
    Guild Journeyer
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada
    Posts
    134

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by ironmetal250 View Post
    over 30 minutes for generating rivers once (I had to do it a few times due to my own stupidity)... I'm not sure of the exact time because I left after a half-hour to do something else.
    LoL sounds about right

  10. #10
    Guild Adept loogie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Strathroy, ON
    Posts
    364

    Default

    yeah 6000x4000 isnt large its huge. problem is quadcore/ram/etc doesnt make much of a dent in these operations cause your limited to 2_4 processes... only real way to speed such up would be to use something like nvidias cuda... basically a small supercomputer in a graphics card case... problem is things need to be programmed to utilize it... the manifold gis system is the only system i've seen use it, and while i hate manifold... they have been getting some strong results (a geoprocess that takes 10 min to run took under 5 seconds in a test they did in ottawa at a conference...) seems like it may be the processing way to go... interesting none the less
    Photoshop, CC3, ArcGIS, Bryce, Illustrator, Maptool

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •