Thread: Town Map

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Post Town Map

About time I actually post a map, eh?

Here is a map I created in Photoshop recently. It was for a project where I was converting an existing map from a PDF adventure into something prettier that can be used in my Battlegrounds virtual tabletop program.

Below my re-imagined version is the original map from the PDF. Unfortunately, this is just a low resolution sample. The full-size version is only available in the free Battlegrounds adventure.

I learned a lot of new tricks while working on this project. For example, even though I've been using Photoshop for many many years, I'd never learned about adjustment layers or layer masks. Go figure!

A funny aside: those are actually supposed to be hedges around the town, but I misread them as irrigation ditches (hence the three small bridges I added). I only learned that they were supposed to be hedges after the map was finished. Fortunately, this change had no impact on the adventure itself, and IMO it makes sense to have irrigation ditches, seeing as how this is supposed to be primarily a farming community.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	kenby_original_211.png 
Views:	575 
Size:	816.5 KB 
ID:	428   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	kenby_map_preview_129.jpg 
Views:	873 
Size:	291.0 KB 
ID:	429  
    Last edited by RobA; 04-11-2013 at 11:47 AM.
    Looking for battlemap creation software that can be used to create gorgeous print-resolution output on Windows or Mac OS?
    Give MapForge a try.

And here is a small close-up of one corner of the map, to give you all a better idea of how it looks at actual size.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	kenby_close_up_137.jpg 
Views:	592 
Size:	132.3 KB 
ID:	430