Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Creative use of Civilization IV

  1. #1

    Post Creative use of Civilization IV

    To me, the hardest part of mapping is coming up with the initial world layout, after that, developing the map is easy (well, easier). The other day while thinking of a new world to map, I realized I had a video game that generates random world maps every time I play, as well as adding resource locations in a semi logical manner. It took a couple of days to get around to it, but I just hopped in and generated a new world for this very purpose.

    You start out choosing basic characteristics for your world, and from there it generates a random map.

    Once you start the game, you can select the world builder mode in order to clear the fog of war and reveal the entire map.

    The settings I used to generate this map were Fractal, Huge, medium water level, Temperate, and Renaissance timeframe. I chose renaissance so that all resources up to that point would be revealed. Had I chosen the default setting, my people wouldve been cavemen, and most resources would have been hidden since cavemen cant use iron and other such resources. If I chose modern, then resources like uranium would also be on the map.

    Most of the images are way zoomed out, but for the 3rd image I zoomed in so you could see the resources actually on the map.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CIV Gen 01.jpg 
Views:	92 
Size:	54.4 KB 
ID:	15776   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CIV Gen 02.jpg 
Views:	53 
Size:	54.4 KB 
ID:	15777   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Civmap 01.jpg 
Views:	297 
Size:	123.2 KB 
ID:	15778   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Civmap 02.jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	110.1 KB 
ID:	15779   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Civmap 03.jpg 
Views:	283 
Size:	205.8 KB 
ID:	15780  


  2. #2

    Post

    Here are more maps with the resources toggled to visible while zoomed out.


    This will be a decent way for me to get the initial planning stage for a map started, and from there I can do the normal photoshop mapping.

    Just thought I'd share this idea.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Civmap 04.jpg 
Views:	70 
Size:	177.7 KB 
ID:	15781   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Civmap 05.jpg 
Views:	119 
Size:	241.7 KB 
ID:	15782  

  3. #3
    Community Leader Facebook Connected Steel General's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ft. Wayne, IN
    Posts
    9,464

    Default

    Neat idea... I used some Civ III building/town icons in a map a few months ago.

    I wonder if you can 'get at' the actual graphics files themselves, or are they in some proprietary format?
    My Finished Maps | My Challenge Maps | Ghoraja Juun, my largely stagnated campaign setting.

    Unless otherwise stated by me in the post, all work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.



  4. #4
    Community Leader Gandwarf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    3,025

    Default

    I love this game... must resist installing it.
    Anyway, I think CIV4 has been mentioned a couple of times as a possible tool for mapping purposes. With an editor you could shape the continents yourself, although this would be a lot more work.
    Check out my City Designer 3 tutorials. See my fantasy (city) maps in this thread.

    Gandwarf has fallen into shadow...

  5. #5

    Post

    Yeah, my intent was just to get a quick randomized map to base work off of in another mapping program.

  6. #6
    Community Leader Facebook Connected Ascension's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    St. Charles, Missouri, United States
    Posts
    8,331

    Post

    Using the world builder is tons of fun. I lost about 2 years of my life using the Civ 2 world builder. I have yet to find the time to play with a Fall from Heaven mod world builder or the Warhammer mod world builder in Civ 4 (although I play at least one game every day). You might want to get NifSkope to look at the 3d images and turn them into icons for your non-Civ maps. You'll need PakBuild to unpack them first though because they are in a compressed format. I have them unpacked and iconized but never use them in my maps.
    If the radiance of a thousand suns was to burst at once into the sky, that would be like the splendor of the Mighty One...I am become Death, the Shatterer of worlds.
    -J. Robert Oppenheimer (father of the atom bomb) alluding to The Bhagavad Gita (Chapter 11, Verse 32)


    My Maps ~ My Brushes ~ My Tutorials ~ My Challenge Maps

  7. #7

    Post

    The civilization series has been by far the biggest time drain for me over the years. The fact that every new game is different and you can when by so many means.

  8. #8
    Guild Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    77

    Default

    Thats a great idea!

  9. #9
    Guild Journeyer
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    129

    Default

    What a great game. I uninstall Civ at least twice a year I'm redoing Diablo II right now.

  10. #10
    Guild Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    91

    Post

    I do that a lot. Sometimes I generate the maps only for rpg reasons

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •