Thread: Heya!

Post Heya!

Heya, everyone!

This is technically my second post as I visited a topology thread to give some information about Finnish names but I'm still new around here by any scale. Actually I registered long ago (might have been last year, even) but just activated this account a few days ago.

I play and DM both WoD and DnD games every once in a while but don't really have any artistic talent or skills with image manipulation programs. I've never even liked my hand drawn maps at all ("Those mountains look so stupid "). I have had some experience with Photoshop but don't have that anymore. Can't afford it and while I don't consider illegal downloading to be stealing, I try to avoid it. Thus, I'm limited to Gimp for the time being and am happy to see that there are several nice tutorials here for that too.

So, I now spend some of my spare time with the lovely tutorials and try to come up with something even distantly resembling a map. So far this is my first and only try:

(though I think I've screwed up with rivers a bit. The version before rivers has a nicer look) It is related to a world designing project I am currently working on. The major geographic features of it are based on Europe as you might notice from that northern part. I'm more interested in designing cultures.

Anyways, I probably won't be posting any tutorials in a long while. I'll first spend some time looking at the tutorials and then will begin creating hundreds of "How can I improve this map/What am I doing wrong" threads.