Thread: Xara Xtreme Map-Making

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Map Xara Xtreme Map-Making

Being different than most map-makers, and self-taught using software not intended for map-making.

I own both CC3 and Dundjinni, but find the former to complex and difficult to learn (not user friendly at all), and the latter as a clumsy tool for map making.

The reason I use Xara Xtreme is because it is a full graphics application - I use it for web graphics, PDF book creation, RPG maps, logo design, sign design, etc.

When you place a mountain or tree in either CC3 or Dundjinni, you can't really go back later and make a change, unless you "undo, undo..." your way back to the object, and subsequently destroy everything you created after that object.

With Xara Xtreme, I can go back to the first object I created, rotate it, enlarge or delete without affecting the rest of the map.

Anyway, I've included a page on my site to show you samples of three terrain maps I've created using Xara Xtreme - check it out if you like!

http://www.gamer-printshop.com/cartographers.html

There's a link to a free trial download of Xara Xtreme, plus I've included to tutorial I created using Xara for map-making.

Oh Mr. Admin - I'm posting another link, but this one is just for pics...

Yup, I am increasingly preferring my vector app (Serif Drawplus - which looks a lot like Xara Xtreme) to my paint app (PSP). I now tend to do most (if not all) of my work in Serif and add finishing touches in PSP. As you say, it is so much easier to make corrections and changes with vector apps. One day I hope to graduate to Illustrator but I find Serif Draw+ so easy and intuitive to use, it'll be a while yet.

Default IMHO - Illustrator is not an upgrade

Adobe Illustrator, although the "industry standard" for years and years, especially for professional graphics work - is a program I have, have used, and don't use anymore. IMHO - Illustrator sucks.