Thread: My First Map

Wip My First Map

This is my first attempt at mapping, doing a map for a story that I'm thinking on writing. I'm pretty much of a GIMP-newbie but I have had some great help from kjdavies Artistic Regional Map tutorial. However, I'm stuck at the moment. I have been trying several times now to get forests unto the map but everytime I try I fail misserably. I just can't get forest part of the tutorial to work. So I you have any ideas or tips on what to do I would greatly appreaciate them.

/hyperion83
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	map1.jpg 
Views:	81 
Size:	218.3 KB 
ID:	19044  

Community Leader Facebook Connected Ascension's Avatar

I would do for forests what you have for dirt but use a dark green.
    If the radiance of a thousand suns was to burst at once into the sky, that would be like the splendor of the Mighty One...I am become Death, the Shatterer of worlds.
    -J. Robert Oppenheimer (father of the atom bomb) alluding to The Bhagavad Gita (Chapter 11, Verse 32)

My Maps ~ My Brushes ~ My Tutorials ~ My Challenge Maps

Good start. I would work on the coast a bit. It looks a little too rounded to me.
    Visit my site for roleplaying at http://www.rpgrescue.com.

Great start, and looking good so far. Make sure that you check out the tutorials on this site because there are a lot of good tuts to help you increase your skills.

I agree with Davros01 about the coastline. I like your mountains, they look good.

Ok I decided to try Ascension's tip about making the forests the same way i did the dirt. So I did that, just added a bit more depth to the bumpmap to get a little more texture to it, and i'm quite pleased with the results. It may not the perfect but I think it will do for my needs. What do you think?

I think you guys might be right about the coast needing some extra tweaking. I will see what I will do about that.