Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: WIP - My first map

Wip WIP - My first map

I created this using GIMP which I am still learning.

This is a local region map for an area I GM a group of friends in when we have time.

Eventually I want to do my entire world so this is kind of a proof of concept for me. I haven't been able to get the bending of text to work for finishing the labels so very little is labeled as of yet. Also, I had no brain on starting with the right DPI scale so it is what it is.

My wife is probably tired of my asking, "What looks better?" and "What is wrong with this picture?", so feel free to C&C me you experts.

Pretty much the whole dang thing is hand painted because I can't seem to follow a tutorial, LOL.

One final note, thank you Ramah for the Markers you posted for use in the elements section. I tweeked them a little (just cleanup and painting) but I'm sure you will recognize them.

Working with a mouse sucks...I need a tablet.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Holmkeep Local.PNG 
Views:	168 
Size:	1.61 MB 
ID:	19309  
    “When it’s over and you look in the mirror, did you do the best that you were capable of? If so, the score does not matter. But if you find that you did your best you were capable of, you will find it to your liking.” -John Wooden

* Rivengard * My Finished Maps * My Challenge Maps * My deviantArt

Community Leader Facebook Connected Ascension's Avatar

I like what you've got going on here style-wise. Keep at it and you'll refine it in time and be teaching us.
    If the radiance of a thousand suns was to burst at once into the sky, that would be like the splendor of the Mighty One...I am become Death, the Shatterer of worlds.
    -J. Robert Oppenheimer (father of the atom bomb) alluding to The Bhagavad Gita (Chapter 11, Verse 32)

My Maps ~ My Brushes ~ My Tutorials ~ My Challenge Maps

Professional Artist Facebook Connected Coyotemax's Avatar