Thread: Proportions and Scale: Questions

Guild Apprentice Facebook Connected AutumnRain's Avatar

Question Proportions and Scale: Questions

So, I'm new to the whole map making thing. I've only recently started making my rough drawings into real attempts. And a problem rises...proportions and scaling.

How do make sure my little buildings are a realistic size? How do I scale the world map so distance can actually be judged? I'm worried my ratio will be way off. I don't want my castles to be the size of a village! Any tips or suggestions would be really helpful. I want to figure a few things out before I try to recreate it in Photoshop.

(Note: I'm a perfectionist that obsesses over the details.)

Thanks!

Well, one important step would be to first decide how much distance a single pixel represents. If you're drawing a full world, each pixel might be as big as 5 miles or more, whereas if you're mapping a small town, maybe each pixel is 5 feet. Once you've decided on that, it's pretty easy to figure out how long something you've drawn is, using either the measuring tool or the histogram

Thanks! I dug around and found a thread about making a scale on PS. I didn't know that it could do that!
    Edmond: There are 72,519 stones in my walls. I've counted them many times.
    Abbe Faria: But have you named them yet? ~ The Count of Monte Cristo

Well, to buildings, depends on time period. For around a middle ages period, a good reference is a a standard dwelling is around 15 feet by 20 or 30 feet.
    Daniel the Neon Knight: Campaign Cartographer User

Never use a big word when a diminutive one will suffice!

Any questions on CC3? Post them with CC3 in the Subject Line!
    MY 'FAMOUS' CC3 MAPS: Thunderspire; Pyramid of Shadows; King of the Trollhaunt Warrens; Demon Queen's Enclave

Community Leader Facebook Connected Ascension's Avatar