Thread: Hello Cartographers!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Guild Novice

Default Hello Cartographers!

Admittedly, I don't think you'll see a lot of me posting around here, certainly not at first, but I wanted to say a big hello and a bigger kudos to all the fantastic map-makers out there.

I am a writer rather than any sort of artist, and stumbled across this place when looking for some inspiration - I'm looking at putting together at least a very rough map for my novel so I can visualise things a little to aid me with the writing progress. I'm not artistic in the slightest, so I'll be checking out the tutorials (big thanks to those who have taken the time and effort to put these together too, I tried one briefly last night and unfortunately failed, but practise will certainly help) and seeing how I go I guess.

Keep up the good work everyone, as those who can are an inspiration to those like me who so far can't, and it's amazing to see who can be done with some hard work and patience!

Minty.

Welcome to the Guild Minty! There are more than a few writers who have stumbled upon, and subsequently joined the Guild after casting about for inspiration for maps for their novels, so you are not alone out there. I encourage you to keep practicing with those tutorials. Mapmaking is tough work, but you'll get the hang of it with practice. Also, if you post a WIP, you'll be able to benefit from the accumulated wisdom of other veteran map makers withing the Guild. So don't feel like you have to perfect a style before your map is presentable, just post what you've got, and others will come along side to help and give advice. Happy mapping.

Cheers,

-Arsheesh

Welcome to the Guild!
    Daniel the Neon Knight: Campaign Cartographer User

Never use a big word when a diminutive one will suffice!

Any questions on CC3? Post them with CC3 in the Subject Line!