Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Seeking Newbie Software Advice: CC3 Versus PS CS3?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Help Seeking Newbie Software Advice: CC3 Versus PS CS3?

Hey all. I'm new to digital cartography. Rather than a long rant about needing to make maps for my steampunk game, allow me to throw my questions out there.

1. I own PS CS3 and have a beginners grasp on photoshop. I see some folks build maps off of PS alone. Is it possible to do that with cities as well?
    2. Money isn't a factor in picking up CC3, along with DD3 and CD3. But are they easy to use, or at least have easy to follow tutorials? Can I do everything in CS3 with Map Symbol and Stamp Packs?
    3. If I wanted to make maps that were of the same graphic quality as Skeleton Key Games Maps/Tiles what programs would I need/want to grab? This one is the most important to me to find an answer to.

Thanks in advance for any assistance the guild can offer.

Well, I use CC3 exclusively for the maps I do (for my biggest collection look for the THUNDERSPIRE, PYRAMID OF SHADOWS and KING OF THE TROLLHAUNT WARRENS in the finished map section....or my sig in about 5 minutes). I very seldom do any post work in PS beyond ensuring the scale is done correctly.

Can you do in PS what you can in PS? Yes. Cities, yes, but for myself, I hate the BRUSH look of the buildings, where each building is a separate entity, as it lacks the cramped look cities historically had.

Is CC3 and it's add ons easy to use? I think so. I picked the software up around 12 years ago (When it was CC, then CC2 and CC2 Pro). The interface has never really changed, and if you follow the tutorials, you will be golden in no time.
    Daniel the Neon Knight: Campaign Cartographer User

Never use a big word when a diminutive one will suffice!

Any questions on CC3? Post them with CC3 in the Subject Line!