Thread: Drawing a forest

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Drawing a forest

Hey guys, I've been trying to draw a forest on my map and not really succeeding for some time. I've attached what I have so far but it doesn't look right, and at this point I don't see what else I could do to make it look better/more realistic. I would be happy with any advice, combination of filters/layers or whatever else you can suggest. I'm working in Photoshop.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	forest..jpg 
Views:	760 
Size:	111.3 KB 
ID:	23502  

Professional Artist Facebook Connected Blaidd Drwg's Avatar

Well, I'm no Photosoup expert by any means, but I'll give it a try. Mind you, I think it doesn't look bad at all!
    First of all, you'll want to change the order of the layers, since now you have the trunks of the trees overlapping a mountaintop (lower left corner). Secondly, maybe a texture underneath the forest would look good. I'm sure the tutorial/resource section can provide you with some eye candy I really like the colour you've chosen and the paper shines through really nicely.

It's not THAT bad. I actually quite like it. I myself have the same problem with drawing forest. What I do; is that I have a small bunch of trees that I made, which I paste side by side and upon eachother... But it's painstakingly slow to do so without it looking like... well, crap.

Your method, in ways of simplicity, is much better Much less a pain in the %¤##¤!!
    Yesterday today was tomorrow.
    My deviantart: http://darkaiz.deviantart.com/

Community Leader Facebook Connected tilt's Avatar
    Blog Entries

agree with the others - its not bad at all - I think the forrest could benefit from some harder edges to fit more with the look of the mountains and then you could add some three contours here and there in the mass of the forrest.
    regs tilt