Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Maps is Metal!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Maps is Metal!

I just found this site today and made an account, I've always thought maps were pretty cool, and secretly have always wanted to have an archaic occupation, such as cartographer or blacksmith. Alas, no one does these things anymore. I would know, as a BIM Drafter by trade, I draw houses on a computer all day, but I sort of wish it was still done by hand.
    A few months ago I started the rather mega project of carving a map of Westeros (A Song of Ice and Fire) out of wood. It measures about 28x56", and is basically my coffee table. This site seemed like the perfect place of people who could appreciate such commitment. I've already seen some cool things and have learned a lot and would like to know more about making maps by hand, sort of like tapestries, or wood carvings. Art pieces, y'know?

Few things about me, I have a degree in computer graphics, with a construction focus, and metal music is the best!

Woah, that sounds like a cool sculpture project.

I saw your map in the other thread and it is quite interesting. Not many people carve maps is the wood here.

Welcome to the guild - fantastic sculpture project!

Ahh - maybe few people do those things nowadays, as their day job.... in an industrial vein. Plenty of artist-blacksmiths *do* bash metal as their trade though. And there's professional mappers who work with traditional media rather than digital means. Your house-drafting trade ... maybe you just have to cater to sufficiently discerning customers, who would appreciate their home starting with as much art as science :-).