Thread: May 2014 Entry - We Remember

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default May 2014 Entry - We Remember

I'm still a newbie in the Guild, but I was truly inspired by this month's challenge!

I must admit: I have a soft spot for strange, non-human cultures, and this is something I always wanted to do – „mapping like a dragon“

### Latest WIP ###
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	We Remember.jpg 
Views:	115 
Size:	2.96 MB 
ID:	64416  

It looks great already! I would love to hear a little more backstory of this and know what the inspiration is behind it.

Excellent, nicely criptic, which seems good for something that doesn't think like we do.

This is my first digital mosaic, so I'm open to any technical or artistic suggestions...

I prefer drawing vector objects in Adobe Illustrator and then do the coloring in Photoshop, but I made this one completely in Adobe Photoshop CS3.

Sure, dragons can't use precise tools and delicate materials for mapping, but if I was a dragon , I would use stone, gems, glass and ceramics (fire breath + sand/ soil) to build my map. And it would be really large, something that can be seen from the orbit ;-)

But why would dragons need a map at all? What if they don't want just to map a territory, but to describe their history... So, this map tells a story. I'm still writing a legend for the map (uhm... more of a short story), and I will post it here tomorrow, I hope....
    Last edited by Shall Teclex; 06-01-2014 at 03:49 AM.

We Remember

We are dying. The Great Mother slumbers, and the Small Father is no longer capable of reproducing. Without his seed, our offspring have no mind. They inherit wings from the Sky Father and fiery spirit from the Fire Father; but they are just beasts, deprived of insight, much like the featherwings.