Thread: Blacksmith's shop

Wip Blacksmith's shop

Hey everyone,
    Larb's buildings really inspired me to try something similar. This is my first attempt for a 3D building – a blacksmith’s shop.
    I would really appreciate suggestions for improvement – for example concerning the general drawing technique, perspective or shadowing.
    Many thanks to Larb – not only for the inspiration but also for his pictures which I used as an ideal I’d like to reach one day.

Created in GIMP

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Blacksmiths shop.png 
Views:	124 
Size:	274.1 KB 
ID:	66711

Good source of inspiration. I would like to see the roof extend further over the edge, it ends right at the wall which makes it feel a bit off like just textures placed on perfect boxes. The shadow from the closest roof onto the one behind it only makes sense if the sun is at an angle below the roof, otherwise its above the house and a lower object could never cast a shadow up a higher object. Great start!

Hey madcowchef,

you are totally right. That is a shadow mistake. ;-) I'll correct that and extend the shadow to the ground behind the building, too.

Wip Shadow problems

I didn't put enough thoughts about the light source in the first version. So I decided to change all shadows according to a sunlight from the left side.
    As the cast shadow is now looking quite good, I'm still not happy with the structure of the wall, e.g. the cornerstones look quite flat and the bench or window shutters do not look like wood.

Has anybody any suggenstions or positive examples for that?

Thank you so much.

Chris

Created in GIMP

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Blacksmiths shop V2.png 
Views:	100 
Size:	292.4 KB 
ID:	66731

Awesome work. Love the style.
    -GP
    Larger copies of my maps located on flickr and can be used for your enjoyment.

Thank you. I'm still trying to improve.

Guild Adept Facebook Connected xpian's Avatar
    Golden Gate Park Panhandle, San Francisco