Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Feb / Mar 2015 Lite Challenge Entry: Standing Stones

Wip Feb / Mar 2015 Lite Challenge Entry: Standing Stones

Well, here goes!

I decided to create some standing stones, mostly because I'd like to use them in a map at some point, and also because I think they're mad cool! I see from the challenge rules that we can create up to six mapping elements, and that seemed a great incentive to create a stone circle, or part of one at least.

So, here's my first effort:

### Latest WIP ###
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Stone1-210215.jpg 
Views:	66 
Size:	34.0 KB 
ID:	71029

I'm not a great artist so I'm quite pleased that it actually looks like a standing stone! However, on the downside, it maybe looks too much like a standing stone. What I mean by that is that it's quite photo-realistic, and I prefer maps that are more illustrative or hand-drawn, so I'm not sure if it'll fit in any map that I might create. I suppose that doesn't affect the challenge one way or the other, it's just my personal musing.

Any thoughts or comments? I've never entered any challenge like this before, and hope I'm doing everything right.

Banned User

Looks good so far

I think if you don't put in a background, just make it a .png file with transparent background (and increase the size a lot), it could be usable for either photo-realistic or easily converted to a nice icon.

I did an experiment with this one, removed the background entirely, then desaturated it to full greyscale, then increased the contrast and brightness, and it came out as a very nice looking icon. I don't want to hijack your thread by posting, but if you want to see it, email me at yodercm@earthlink.net and I'll send.

Thanks Chick, I just emailed you.

I can lose the background no problem, as it's on a separate layer, and nothing else you've suggested sounds too problematic, so I'll take a look at what you've created and see where I want to go from there.