Thread: Scales, Areas - what software is best?

Guild Applicant

Default Scales, Areas - what software is best?

Hi everybody! How is everyone doing?! I am new to the guild and looking forward to all the cool stuff I am going to learn from you guys
    My dearest brother told me to draw a map for his fantasy setting and he insists, that I use his scales while drawing...
    So there is this quite large realm that is literally the center of the civilized world and the other nations just clutch at its borders. Brother dearest tells me that this realm is around 2,2 million km˛ large...
    My question is, is there a software that can actually calculate the area of a country/realm while i am drawing it. Is it possible to do it with cc3 oder do I need fractial terrans 3 for that?
    Thanks for your help and recommendations
    Last edited by rauvin; 03-31-2015 at 02:18 AM.

I believe CC3 has a command to calculate the area of a shape. FT won't help you there. It's primary function is to create landforms and a heightmap. I don't think it has any tools to designate political divisions, just physical features. It's also not terribly good at guided creation. It's best for generating entirely random features.

I'd say your best bet is to get the shape for your central nation to your brother's satisfaction without regard to its size. Once you have the shape, you can run the Area command to get its size and rescale it to where you need it to be. Then you can turn your attention to the surrounding nations.

edit: Oh yes, and welcome aboard!
    Bryan Ray, visual effects artist
    http://www.bryanray.name

Guild Applicant

Hi there! Thanks for the reply Midgardsormr
    By the way, whats your opinion on GIMP? I watched a tutorial on youtube and it seemed to me that its rather complicated to create a map with GIMP. Does anyone know a more amateur-friendly software?