Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Untitled world

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Guild Novice
    Blog Entries

Default Untitled world

Hi Guys!
    So I've been playing with this idea for a little while. I have a hand drawn sketch and a digital version that is more up to date done with ArcMap.
    I'm still figuring out the climate and landforms but the continents are in the right place I think. With the northern ones not getting high enough latitude to really see super cold but the south will see months of darkness and cold weather.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0003 1.JPG 
Views:	43 
Size:	2.36 MB 
ID:	75305

Name:	NewWorldWinkelTripel.jpg 
Views:	53 
Size:	70.3 KB 
ID:	75306

Guild Novice
    Blog Entries

So I decided to draw this out on 22"x28" poster board.
    This is the preliminary. Its my first time drawing landforms.

Name:	IMG_0004 2.JPG 
Views:	63 
Size:	2.75 MB 
ID:	75312

Are you working with a Winkel tripel projection? Because if this is the whole world, the mountains look too large in my opinion.

Is there a reason that the mountain ranges on the western continent look stylistically different from the ones on the eastern continent?

Guild Novice
    Blog Entries

I realize my mountains are too big. And the different in style is unintentional and probably a result of my being better at drawing horizontal mountains than vertical ones. This is my first by-hand attempt so I'm still figuring out how to do landforms. I also don't have markers that can blend. Soon enough though.
    Here's the finished one. Did it in about 6 hours.

Name:	IMG_0005 1.JPG 
Views:	70 
Size:	2.22 MB 
ID:	75314

Guild Novice
    Blog Entries

Ok, here are my final draft of the tectonic boundaries. Triangles for subduction zones, double lines for divergent zones and solid for transform.

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-08-16 at 11.32.26 AM.png 
Views:	76 
Size:	137.6 KB 
ID:	75377