Thread: Hello, i'm new to cartography and would appreciate help developing my skills.

Guild Novice

Help Hello, i'm new to cartography and would appreciate help developing my skills.

Hello, my name is Andrew, I have been hand drawing personal fantasy maps since I was about ten. In this time i developed my world and have begun flushing it out, but until now i didn't have access to a computer to use advanced tools to really detail my map. This is the political map of my world, and yes, sadly i used paint to transition from paper to digital. I would appriciate advise on what tools to use, and what to fix/add to my map. Sorry for the unclean, empty map, any help would be great!! Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Aferian political map.jpg 
Views:	64 
Size:	2.10 MB 
ID:	75427

Banned User

Hello Andrew! Welcome to the Guild!

For a first map post here, that's really quite good. To start with, I suggest you read a great tutorial in the sticky section of Tutorials, called Quickstart Guide to Fantasy Mapping: http://www.cartographersguild.com/showthread.php?t=4276

From there, go to Hand Drawn Mapping for the Artistically Challenged: http://www.cartographersguild.com/sh...ad.php?t=10655

Once you have completed those two tutorials, you'll be well on your way!!

Guild Novice

Thank you , and thank you for the direction! Ill be sure to watch the tutorials!

Welcome to the Guild! You have nothing to apologize for - you've got a more interesting map going here that some people do with Photoshop. Like one or more others I'll give you a smidgen of rep for the boldness to give us a map in your first post, and for it being a creditable start as well.