Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A nice surprise

Default A nice surprise

Hi people, I'm new here but not new to maps. City maps are what I do for a living and the wealth of wonderful interpretations out there are a delight; Katherine Baxter is my herione but history flags up so many more. If i don't make a mess of it here's a low res sample of what I do. It would be nice to network with like-minded individuals so feedback please people.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Hereford map section low res.jpg 
Views:	97 
Size:	1.92 MB 
ID:	82952  

Guild Expert Guild Supporter Greg's Avatar

Hi there Roger, That' s really lovely looking map you've got there! We don't get too many contemporary city maps done like this on here, and your linework and colours are excellent.

I'm sure you're going to fit right in, because whether professionals or hobbyists on here, we all just make mas because we want to and the community is so very welcoming and great at providing advice.

I look forwards to seeing more of your work!

Oh, and have some rep!

Thanks GLS, for the last twelve years I've worked alone, almost exclusively on city maps having previously run design units doing almost everything else but that; architectural illustration has always been a passion though. I have plenty more examples to post but would welcome the opportunity to compare notes rather than just display my own stuff. We'll no doubt be in touch.

Wow, your work looks stunning, Roger! This is indeed a great place to talk about cartography in every sense of the word. Looking forward to see more of you're work!

-Dan

Guild Expert Guild Supporter Greg's Avatar

Yeah, whether or not you choose to show more work or not, it is a great place to discuss ideas, try new things (especially with the challenges), build up skills and just talk about cartography! And of course, it is always great to see how people are getting on with their maps!