Thread: Rob A's Most Excellent Tutorial

Default Rob A's Most Excellent Tutorial

Hi yinz. I introduced myself a bit in the member intro section 'bout a week ago. So, yea. noob. and by noob, I mean total noob with not just cartography, but art in general. I can spray paint my name in GIMP and I am pretty good with computers and I make a really kick butt salmon cake for the hungry folks in the house tonight. Please keep that level of noobness in mind when answering my most likely simple questions. Stet that...subtract 5 levels from that noobie level and keep that new level in mind.

Ok. So learning gimp and Rob's Regional Mapping techniques at the same time. I am using the four part PDF series someone put together based on Rob A's original. I get through the first three layer sandwich just fine. But when I hit hte sea layer the wheels start to come off a bit.

I create teh sea shape layer and invert like I am supposed to. Then create the sea noise layer and merge it down. Dupe the sea shape layer, rename it "sea" then add laye rmask using the land mask I had created and saved to channel earlier. I keep rolling through steps until I get ot the bit with the histogram. It says you can see there are gaps in the histogram. Yup. I agree. The instructions then say: "Right-click on the Sealayer and select alpha to select. This should give me marching ants (they are there) that mark the transparant section of the sea layer. That is to say, it marks what in lower layers is "land".

The next step is "select->invert". So, at thsi point all non-transparent areas should be selected (that is, the sea). Here is where the trouble starts. The next instruction is "Use the bucket tool to fill the selected area white." Because of the noise added in prior steps, things are too splotchy for bucket fill. It seem like paintbrush would be a better choice (and I get it isn't). Just seems that I must have done something wrong somewhere. This uber-noob would appreciate some helps.