Thread: Current Project, Any Advice/Criticism

Guild Applicant Facebook Connected

Map Current Project, Any Advice/Criticism

Hello fellows and good day!

I'm a little new to making maps with any amount of detail in regards to forests, mountains, coastlines and the like. I'm trying to step up my game per-say and was hoping to get some advice on a map that I am currently making on canvas for a very large D&D campaign that I am DMing. So far I have Gothwynn the dwarven state of the Confederacy of Darton finished (that is to say the base line work). I know there are some glaring mistakes pretty much everywhere but anything you guys can give me in regards to advice or feedback of any kind would be most helpful.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20180616_010746_176.jpg 
Views:	99 
Size:	2.79 MB 
ID:	107826

Guild Novice Facebook Connected

Quote Originally Posted by WokeOak View Post
    Hello fellows and good day!

I'm a little new to making maps with any amount of detail in regards to forests, mountains, coastlines and the like. I'm trying to step up my game per-say and was hoping to get some advice on a map that I am currently making on canvas for a very large D&D campaign that I am DMing. So far I have Gothwynn the dwarven state of the Confederacy of Darton finished (that is to say the base line work). I know there are some glaring mistakes pretty much everywhere but anything you guys can give me in regards to advice or feedback of any kind would be most helpful.

Name:	IMG_20180616_010746_176.jpg 
Views:	99 
Size:	2.79 MB 
ID:	107826
    Looks great, my professional advice:

1. Roads/paths look like train tracks. Shorten the lines and angle them in different directions. Unless they are train tracks.
    2. Angle your structures and mountain in the same direction, this is subjective, but it helps the eye.