Thread: Beginner seeking recommendations for inexpensive software to start

Default Beginner seeking recommendations for inexpensive software to start

Hello!

I'm new to this, and I'm looking for recommendations on inexpensive to free software to dip my toes in the water. My main points of interest are historical maps, geology, and topography. I have access to a PC running Windows 10.

Thanks in advance!

Best regards,

Juan

I think there is a sticky probably some where, but here's a List of the ones I know about:

Painting/Raster Free:
    Krita
    GIMP

Painting Paid:
    Paint Studio Pro
    Procreate

Vector Free:
    Inkscape

3D Free:
    Blender

The Affinity software might be worth checking out too. Affinity Photo is a software in vein of Photoshop, so should be good for painting and drawing in raster format.
    Affinity Designer is a vector software I can personally vouch for, I kind of prefer this over Illustrator even if I am generally Adobe's b*tch.
    Last edited by Kellerica; 04-07-2020 at 09:06 AM.
    Homepage | Instagram | Facebook | Artstation
    Just give me liquorice and nobody gets hurt.

Professional Artist Guild Donor Sapiento's Avatar

Affinity Photo is very good, it does more or less everything Photoshop does. Affinity Designer is OK, but it does not support real vector brushes, which is a big downside for a vector software.

Wip

Thank you all for the information. I will look into these that you've mentioned.

Another related question (please excuse me, I don't know if it's best to follow up here or to make a separate post): I have several maps of the same area, all from different sources and with different features, which I would like to use to make a composite map that includes the features from each of them. My maps are in pdf form currently.