Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mesa Caves?

Wip Mesa Caves?

Hi guys! So I've lurked a long time around here, but this is my first time actually posting anything. I finally got a few of my maps up in a gallery (I was going to post more but it looks like there's a quota, oops) and I'd like some input on my current map.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Burrows 2.png 
Views:	281 
Size:	2.99 MB 
ID:	76815

As you can tell, it's a WIP. I'm working in Paint Tool SAI (because it renders lines for sketches better than Photoshop), so I'll fiddle with line widths and make it prettier eventually, but I'm having issues now with adding shadows. (SAI's not really set up for layer effects.)

I'm thinking about starting again in Photoshop now that I've got the basic layout done, but before I do that, I'd like some opinions. I've never done an underground map before so there's some things I'd like to check.

Background

To explain, this cave system is inside a mesa that edges onto an area of mud pits. There's a series of hot springs and pools inside the caverns (the source of their fresh water), so obviously there's some geothermal activity here, but mesas are apparently formed by erosion. I haven't been able to find anything on Google about caves through mesas, either, only things like the cave cities that, from the photos, don't actually go very deep past the edges.