Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Carto brushes - caterpillar ridges and train tracks

  1. #1
    Guild Journeyer Gracious Donor J.Edward's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central PA area
    Posts
    169

    Post Carto brushes - caterpillar ridges and train tracks

    I was enjoying Vorropohaiah's thread - http://www.cartographersguild.com/re...as-elyden.html and the topic of doing caterpillar style ridges came up. Doing them by hand takes a long time so I thought I'd try to help out there and made some brushes for that. They simulate the look but time will tell if they are completely satisfactory. They were done in PS cs5 so probably not backward compatible, though I'm not sure on that one.

    I was also viewing Ilanthar's thread on LA - http://www.cartographersguild.com/to...s-map-wip.html and noticed that the raillines could use some tracks.
    So I made 2 sets of tracks.
    Here's a sample page of what the brushes look like.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sample 1.jpg 
Views:	170 
Size:	540.1 KB 
ID:	66407
    here's the brushes Brush set 1.zip

    edit-new image for the caterpillar brushes
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ridge brushes 01.jpg 
Views:	108 
Size:	898.4 KB 
ID:	66474

    [only caveat - don't reupload or combine and distribute with other brushes]
    Would love to see what people do with them. Enjoy.

    License info
    These brushes can be used in personal and commercial maps. They are not to be distributed or rebundled with other brushes for distribution elsewhere. If they are used in a commercial map/work it would be nice to get a credit and/or a link back to this thread so others could access them.
    Last edited by J.Edward; 08-11-2014 at 09:16 PM.

  2. #2
    Guild Expert Ilanthar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    France
    Posts
    1,003

    Default

    Awesome work and very generous! I just used a mesh pattern to do my railroads (and that's why it looks weird the line is not strictly horizontal or vertical), and this is really better. Could you do a GIMP version for those (like me) who doesn't have PS?

  3. #3
    Guild Journeyer Gracious Donor J.Edward's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central PA area
    Posts
    169

    Default

    I don't use GIMP but I can download it and see if it is the same.
    That would probably be helpful as many Guild user are using GIMP. I'll try that a bit later today.

  4. #4
    Guild Journeyer Gracious Donor J.Edward's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central PA area
    Posts
    169

    Default

    Ilanthar - I just checked online. It said that if you're using GIMP version 2.4 or later that you should be able to just install PS brushes with no conversion needed.
    Give it a try and see if that works.
    Here's what I found. http://graphicssoft.about.com/od/gim...op-brushes.htm
    Last edited by J.Edward; 08-08-2014 at 01:28 PM. Reason: added link

  5. #5
    Community Leader Gracious Donor
    Facebook Connected
    Diamond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    SF,CA,USA
    Posts
    3,133

    Default

    Those are awesome! I'm a big fan of caterpillar mountains. Very generous of you to let us use 'em, too. In fact I have a map I'll be starting this weekend that these would be perfect for...
    "I like a look of agony, because I know it's true."

    -Emily Dickinson

  6. #6
    Guild Journeyer Gracious Donor J.Edward's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central PA area
    Posts
    169

    Default

    Great. Let me know when you're done Diamond. I'd love to see what you were able to achieve with them.

  7. #7
    Guild Artisan Gracious Donor
    Facebook Connected
    vorropohaiah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    35.921568 N,14.480068 E
    Posts
    929

    Default

    these are great. what's the licence on them?

  8. #8
    Guild Expert Ilanthar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    France
    Posts
    1,003

    Default

    By J. Edward
    It said that if you're using GIMP version 2.4 or later that you should be able to just install PS brushes with no conversion needed.
    Give it a try and see if that works.
    Great! I'll definitely will! You'll see the new railroads on my LA map if it works

  9. #9
    Guild Journeyer Gracious Donor J.Edward's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central PA area
    Posts
    169

    Default

    Vorro - I edited the first post with a license info thing. As I created them to help you out initially you should feel free to use them freely.
    Same goes to you Ilanthar. I will check the LA map thread.

    Others are welcome too. I think the license info is clear enough. Enjoy.

  10. #10
    Guild Expert Ilanthar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    France
    Posts
    1,003

    Default

    I confirm it works with GIMP... and that I'm a complete noob with that software! I'll have to tame the beast before being able to use your brush, I'm afraid. I'm just unable to do something close to your example right now.... But I'm working on it!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •