Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: GIMP: How to Automate the Tedium?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by jfrazierjr View Post
    Rob, I just had a thought, what if you use your top down mountain technique with the angular gradient fill, and then run this on top of the resulting height map?
    It does take a bit of futzing about.... Here is the result on the HF of the recent mountain tut I had posted.

    The lines are a bit regular... adding some random to the code would probably help.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test.png 
Views:	80 
Size:	712.4 KB 
ID:	10914

    -Rob A>

  2. #2
    Guild Artisan Facebook Connected
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    928

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by jfrazierjr View Post
    Hmmmm.... with some playing with the right colors and some dodge/burn effects, this would make for a somewhat quick way to make top down(symbolic) mountains effect. With variable lengths, I expect you could make some niceish hills...
    Joe: you have been reading my mind. That is exactly what I wanted this for.

    I've been working (very, very slowly) on a worldmap with a lot of mountains... I was at this point and thought "why the crap should I do this by hand; at the rate I've been moving, it'll take me months to do all these..." So... I thought, what if it could be automated?
    I think, therefore I am a nerd.
    Cogito, ergo sum nerdem.

    Check out my blog: "The Undiscovered Author"
    It's the story of a writer... follow me in my simple quest to get published, and share your own writing stories, adventures and writerly tips.

    Pimping my worldmap here. Still WIP... long way to go, but I'm pretty proud of what I've done so far...

  3. #3
    Guild Artisan Facebook Connected
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    928

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by RobA View Post
    With the script I munged up, if I start with this:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	before.png 
Views:	229 
Size:	8.8 KB 
ID:	10911

    and do a selection to alpha then alpha to path, running the script will do this:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	after.png 
Views:	228 
Size:	100.1 KB 
ID:	10912

    Enlarging and shrinking the selection first (to make an outside path and an inside path), then running the script first on the outside then on the inside I got something like this (after playing with spacing and such):
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	after2.png 
Views:	262 
Size:	95.5 KB 
ID:	10913

    Of course, randomness lengths could be added in. Unfortunately, pdb calls won't use new settings like jitter ;(

    Let me know and I'll upload a copy if this is the effect you are looking for.

    -Rob A>

    That is pretty awesome close to what I was talking about! I wish I could pip you another green blob!
    I think, therefore I am a nerd.
    Cogito, ergo sum nerdem.

    Check out my blog: "The Undiscovered Author"
    It's the story of a writer... follow me in my simple quest to get published, and share your own writing stories, adventures and writerly tips.

    Pimping my worldmap here. Still WIP... long way to go, but I'm pretty proud of what I've done so far...

  4. #4
    Guild Adept bryguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    In my own little world =D
    Posts
    289

    Default

    Why not just use the iWarp tool?
    "When I use a word," Humpty Dumpty said in a rather scornful tone," it means just what I choose it to mean -- neither more nor less."
    "The question is," said Alice, "whether you can make words mean so many things."

    "The question is," said Humpty Dumpty, "which is to be master -- that's all."


    -Lewis Carrol: Through the Looking Glass

  5. #5
    Community Leader Facebook Connected Steel General's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ft. Wayne, IN
    Posts
    9,530

    Default

    Great stuff as usual RobA!
    My Finished Maps | My Challenge Maps | Still poking around occasionally...

    Unless otherwise stated by me in the post, all work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.



  6. #6

    Post

    Never able to leave "well enough" alone...

    I've updated the script so it converts the path to a selection and tries to figure out "inside". If there are unclosed path segments, the endpoints are joined and that is "inside". If the path segment is perfectly straight and the software uses "down" as "inside". The script won't check that your stroke length stays inside... you will have to worry about that yourself

    Here are the modes now offered (the faint red circles were added after to show the path location):
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	perpendicular_smudge_sample.png 
Views:	64 
Size:	753.3 KB 
ID:	10966

    And attached is the updated script.

    ..And if someone can provide the scheme code to turn a 4 value array: (cons-array 4 'double) where it holds X1 Y1 X2 Y2 into a larger array with jittered intermediate points, i.e. X1 Y1 Xa Ya Xb Yb ... Xz Yz X2 Y2 then the strokes could jitter...

    -Rob A>
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    Guild Artisan Facebook Connected
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    928

    Post

    RobA.

    That.

    Is.

    AWESOME.
    I think, therefore I am a nerd.
    Cogito, ergo sum nerdem.

    Check out my blog: "The Undiscovered Author"
    It's the story of a writer... follow me in my simple quest to get published, and share your own writing stories, adventures and writerly tips.

    Pimping my worldmap here. Still WIP... long way to go, but I'm pretty proud of what I've done so far...

  8. #8
    Community Leader Facebook Connected torstan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4,199

    Post

    There's a slight issue when you run the script that it doesn't return the selection to the layer you are working on. This means you have to remember to select the layer again if you want to run the script again.

    Looks good so far! Thanks Rob.

  9. #9

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by torstan View Post
    There's a slight issue when you run the script that it doesn't return the selection to the layer you are working on. This means you have to remember to select the layer again if you want to run the script again.

    Looks good so far! Thanks Rob.
    oops.

    Throw in this line:
    Code:
        (gimp-image-set-active-layer img inLayer)
    just before the line with the ;done down about line 249

    That should take care of it.

    -Rob A>

  10. #10
    Guild Apprentice lisze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    The States
    Posts
    38

    Default

    That looks amazing. I like the effect that it has. I'll be trying this out.
    Last edited by lisze; 03-07-2009 at 10:36 AM. Reason: Figured out the right folder.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •