Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: GIMP can make random world maps out of the box!

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Administrator RobA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Niagara, Canada
    Posts
    5,567

    Info GIMP can make random world maps out of the box!

    Following up on the random coastlines in this post I was going to make a GIMP script-fu *macro) to generate these automatically. Low and behold, there already are three built in to the GIMP! distribution. All of them generate coloured maps, however, and are available from the main GIMP window Xtns->Patterns->Land (shown). Also shown are the settings I used for the generated images, only changing the seed.

    Note that these create an image, nothing needs to be done first. I (creatively) used seeds 0, 1, and 2 respectively.

    -Rob A>

    Now to modify/extend this to draw outlines as well!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CropImage.jpg 
Views:	581 
Size:	43.5 KB 
ID:	987   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	levels[12].jpg 
Views:	517 
Size:	25.4 KB 
ID:	988  

  2. #2
    Community Leader NeonKnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Surrey, Canada, EH!
    Posts
    5,025

    Default

    Looks cool! Wonder if there is a way to export that to Profantasy's Fractal Terrains and then to CC3?
    Daniel the Neon Knight: Campaign Cartographer User

    Never use a big word when a diminutive one will suffice!

    Any questions on CC3? Post them with CC3 in the Subject Line!
    MY 'FAMOUS' CC3 MAPS: Thunderspire; Pyramid of Shadows; King of the Trollhaunt Warrens; Demon Queen's Enclave

  3. #3
    Community Leader RPMiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Watching you from in here
    Posts
    3,233

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NeonKnight View Post
    Looks cool! Wonder if there is a way to export that to Profantasy's Fractal Terrains and then to CC3?
    If you convert it to a gray scale you can use it in FT as a height map.
    Bill Stickers is innocent! It isn't Bill's fault that he was hanging out in the wrong place.

    Please make an effort to tag all threads. This will greatly enhance the usability of the forums.


    Find me on Google+

  4. #4
    Community Leader Torq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    902

    Default

    Man. Who knew? Thats great for quick continental maps. Thanks for an excellent find.

    Torq
    The internet! It\'ll never catch on.

    Software Used: Terranoise, Wilbur, Terragen, The Gimp, Inkscape, Mojoworld

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Community Leader RPMiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Watching you from in here
    Posts
    3,233

    Default

    See my post that I posted at the same time as yours.
    Bill Stickers is innocent! It isn't Bill's fault that he was hanging out in the wrong place.

    Please make an effort to tag all threads. This will greatly enhance the usability of the forums.


    Find me on Google+

  7. #7
    Administrator RobA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Niagara, Canada
    Posts
    5,567

    Default

    The script-fu actually leaves the greyscale heightfield as a layer under the coloured one. You could just use that

    But if you've already got FT, it can do this sort of stuff right out of the box, no?

    I don't have FT, but random HF generation is pretty basic, even Wilbur does it (and much better than GIMP), and my understanding is that Wilbur was the start code fro a lot of FT.

    -Rob A>

  8. #8
    Community Leader NeonKnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Surrey, Canada, EH!
    Posts
    5,025

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobA View Post
    The script-fu actually leaves the greyscale heightfield as a layer under the coloured one. You could just use that

    But if you've already got FT, it can do this sort of stuff right out of the box, no?

    I don't have FT, but random HF generation is pretty basic, even Wilbur does it (and much better than GIMP), and my understanding is that Wilbur was the start code fro a lot of FT.

    -Rob A>
    While FT can do this out of the box, the colors are more aligned to CC and not quite as pretty.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FTWorld.jpg 
Views:	877 
Size:	167.7 KB 
ID:	992  
    Daniel the Neon Knight: Campaign Cartographer User

    Never use a big word when a diminutive one will suffice!

    Any questions on CC3? Post them with CC3 in the Subject Line!
    MY 'FAMOUS' CC3 MAPS: Thunderspire; Pyramid of Shadows; King of the Trollhaunt Warrens; Demon Queen's Enclave

  9. #9
    Guild Adept Gracious Donor Notsonoble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lubbock
    Posts
    318

    Default

    For those running 2.6 it seems a lot of those scripts weren't sent with the binaries... here's the one I found... http://registry.gimp.org/node/8172

    edit grr: this one actually creates a space view of a planet... I'll keep looking...
    Last edited by Notsonoble; 06-26-2009 at 02:15 PM.
    My D&D/Roleplaying Blog Making a new effort to update every two weeks!
    Gimp Gradient Basics

  10. #10
    Administrator RobA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Niagara, Canada
    Posts
    5,567

    Post

    In most cases any one that creates a new image has been moved to the File>Create menu instead of the old xtns menu.

    This happened as a part of adding an empty image window on startup.

    -Rob A>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •